Jump to User:

myOtaku.com: Hiroko Kun

Friday, July 1, 2005

   Legend and Fact about the Chinese Zodiac
Chinese Zodiac Legend
One day a long time ago the king of heaven (the Jade Emperor) wished to have a formal party with guest. His guest would be the animals and to be fun the Emperor would make the first 12 animals to come to the party and win the race the 12 animals of the 12 year cycle. The 12 animals would be in the order of the way they came to the party. All the animals wanted to be first in line to the party not because the king was a great party maker but because they were all a little greedy and wished to be first in line in the year cycle but, the boar who was a little lazy and did not care who was first. The cat was a sound sleeper and it was hard to wakeup fast for him so he asked his dear friend to the rat wake him up. The cat and rat were best of friends and they loved each other a lot. The rat never woke the cat and betrayed his friend. When the race though the river to the palace began the rat jumped on the ox because the ox was a great swimmer and he, the rat had never learned how to swim. The ox did not know the rat was on in till the end of the race when the rat jumped off to win the race. The rat became first in the cycle but the rat hated himself for being not smart for not waking the cat, betraying his friendship with him and cheating in the race. All 12 the 12 animals that were in the race had a wonderfully great time at the party. The 12 animals that were in the party were in order by who won the race were the rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, ram, monkey, rooster, dog, and the boar. The cat never came to the party and never would. Even though the rat was sorry for himself he never said sorry to the cat and the cat never forgave the rat. The rat and the cat still hate each other today and the Chinese Zodiac is still not cerebrated with the cat and the cat is still though as a scum of the animals.

Chinese Zodiac Fact
Chinese Lunar Calendar of the Zodiac is the longest record in history, dating from 2600BC, when the Emperor Huang Ti was ruling. The Chinese Lunar Calendar has a cycle of 12 years named after a animal the animals in order are rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog and the pig. The Chinese New Year is not on January 1st because the The ancient Chinese calendar is a lunar calendar. The ancient Chinese calendar is composed of Tian Gan (heavenly stems) and Di Zhi (earthly branches). The combinations of 10 heavenly stems and 12 earthly branches make up the years, days and hours. One day was divided into 12 periods, called Shi Chen, and each Shi Chen is 2 hours. Later the animals would not only be signs of the years but also of the day or Di Zhi (12 earthly ranches). The animals are arranged rat first and boar last because it is in the order that the animals are doing something special in the the day. The order is rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, ram, monkey, rooster, dog, and the boar.

The times of the animals:
*Zi (11 pm to 1 am). At this time the rat is most active.
*Chou (1 am to 3 am). The ox is chewing its cud.
*Yin (3 am to 5 am). The tiger is looking for food. “violent”
*Mao (5 am to 7 am) before sunrise the jade rabbit is on the moon
*Chen (7 am to 9 am) time the dragon produces cloud and rain
*Si (9 am to 11 am). The snake is active
*Wu (11 am to 1 pm). The horse is most powerful
*Wei (1 pm to 3 pm). The time the goat is eating grass
*Shen (3 pm to 5 pm). The monkey is most active
*Qiu (5 pm to 7 pm). The rooster goes back to its coop
*Xu (7 pm to 9 pm). The dog begins to keep watch
*Hai (9 pm to 11 pm). All is quiet, and the pig is sleeping

« Home